What are the penalties for a first-time DUI in Colorado?

On Behalf of | Jul 15, 2022 | DUI |

Driving under the influence may seem at first to be a minor offense, but in actuality, it can be very serious. In Colorado in 2021, 30% of all fatal motor vehicle accidents involved alcohol-impaired drivers and over 11% involved drivers who were under the influence of controlled substances.

Colorado takes these offenses seriously. If you drive under the influence you can expect the court to implement penalities.

What are the standard penalties for a first-time DUI offender?

The standard penalties for a first-time DUI in Colorado include:

  • Up to 96 hours of community service
  • Fines of up to $1000, plus court costs
  • Two years of probation
  • A license suspension of nine months
  • Mandatory attendance at alcohol or drug education classes

What if the DUI involved an accident?

The penalties are more severe if the DUI caused an accident, or if the driver has a high blood alcohol content in excess of 0.8%. In these cases, additional penalties include:

  • A criminal record
  • At least five days, and up to one year in jail
  • 12 points on your Colorado DMV driving record

What if this is your first offense in Colorado but you have a prior conviction in another state?

If you have a prior conviction for a DUI in another state, it will count as a prior conviction for a DUI in Colorado as well. This is true no matter how long ago the first offense occurred.

Second offense penalties include:

  • At least 10 days and up to one year in jail
  • Up to 4 years of probation
  • Up to $1,500 in fines
  • Up to 120 hours of public service
  • One year suspended license
  • Ignition interlock device for 2 years
  • 12 DMV Points
  • Mandatory alcohol education classes

Be sure to take DUI charges seriously. The Colorado courts certainly will.