A drug crime conviction in Colorado can have severe ramifications for your life. Not all drug crimes are the same.
Colorado law classifies a drug crime as either a misdemeanor or felony and has different levels within each type of offense that have varying consequences.
Misdemeanor drug charges
A misdemeanor drug charge is the less severe classification of a drug crime. There are two levels of assignments, level one and level two. Level two carries a less severe penalty and applies to possession of two to six ounces of marijuana, abuse of toxic vapors or an attempt to commit a level one or two misdemeanors. A level one misdemeanor is for possession of six to 12 ounces of marijuana or unlawful possession of a substance listed in Schedules II, IV or V. The maximum penalty for a misdemeanor is 12 months in jail and a $1,000 fine.
Felony drug charges
Felony drug charges have four levels of severity. A level one charge is the most serious and generally applies when you get caught selling a certain amount of drugs. The standard penalty for a level one felony charge is eight to 32 years in jail, with a fine ranging from $5,000 to $1 million. Felonies classified as levels two through four apply to selling fewer drugs and possessing specific amounts of illegal substances. Any felony drug charge can result in prison time and a significant fine.
If you face a drug charge, you must protect your rights to ensure you get the best outcome possible under the law.